Tags

, , , , ,

Now, I don’t want to toot my own horn too much but these might just be the best thing I have ever baked.

92682-Taylor-Swift-Whatever-shoulder-H5Uf

I have been experimenting on my Rolo Cookies and think I have finally nailed the perfect recipe! I present to you salted caramel stuffed chewy chocolate chip cookies.

Now the secret ingredient is something a bit a bit odd… a packet of butterscotch Angel Delight. I found it in the back of my cupboard and chucked it in the bowl with my fingers crossed. To my delight, it turned out to be the magic these cookies needed to turn from ‘pretty good’ to ‘completely awesome’.

Another important step is the chilling time – sticking the dough in the fridge for at least an hour makes such a difference to the outcome! It stiffens the dough which helps encase the rolo better when baked. The result? A chewy crumbly cookies that molten caramel pours out off…

ryan

To make 12 – 15 large cookies (depending on how much dough you eat… ahem), you will need the below:

  • 180g softened unsalted butter
  • 95g brown sugar
  • 30g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 260g self raising flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 pack butterscotch Angel Delight
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 150g chocolate chips
  • 2 packs of rolos 

Beat your sugar and butter into a bowl until it is pale and fluffy. Add the vanilla and the eggs and mix beat until they are well combined.

In a separate bowl mix together the flour, the baking soda, the salt and the packet of Angel Delight.

Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture and once completely mixed, stir through the chocolate chips. Cover the bowl, pop in the fridge for the next hour and go about your business.

Once the hour has passed… Place foil on a baking tray and heat your oven to Gas Mark 4. Take just over a spoonful of mixture, roll it into a ball and then push one rolo gently into the middle so it is completely surrounded by mixture. Repeat with the rest of your mixture and make sure all the balls are about 3 inches apart, as they will spread when they bake. (You might have to cook them in batches like I did!).

Bake for 10 – 12 minutes until they are golden but still slightly undercooked. Immediately sprinkle with best quality rock salt and leave to cool.

rolo cookies

I took these into work to stop myself from eating the whole batch and am very pleased to report that they were demolished by the end of the meeting! A sign of a very good bake 🙂

