Tags

, , , , , ,

Ahhh baking my old friend, it has been a while.

Baking-cookies_1641

In a bid to ingratiate myself to my new colleagues, I committed to bringing something delicious in for a charity Bake Sale. ‘No problem’, I cried cheerily, ‘I LOVE to bake, I’ll bring something fancy in – how do you guys feel about salted caramel?’

It was a stupid question – everyone feels the same way about salted caramel.

tumblr_inline_ncu599CMqc1qebcl8

Now after all my best intentions… I completely forgot. I was blissfully curled up with my housemate on the sofa, catching up on the Great British Bake Off at about 9pm on Sunday night, when I remembered. What followed was a mad dash around Sainsbury’s, frenzied mixing and some of the best cookies I have ever managed to make… completely by mistake!

IMG_1992[1]

To make 12 – 15 of your own Rolo cookies, you will need the below:

  • 250g plain flour
  • teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • teaspoon salt
  • 170g melted unsalted butter
  • 200g dark brown soft sugar
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg  + 1 egg yolk
  • Two rolls of rolos – like this

Line a baking tray with grease proof paper and heat your oven to 170 Degrees C.

Sift together all your dry ingredients in a bowl. In a bigger bowl, cream together your melted butter and both sugars. Chuck in your vanilla, whole egg and egg yolk and whisk until it is all combined and the colour is pale.

Fold in your dry ingredients bit by bit, until everything is combined and you should be left with a fairly wet mixture. Unwrap your rolos and stir until they are evenly spread.

Take a small handful (about a tablespoons worth), make sure you have a couple of rolos in each handful, roll into a ball and place into your tray. Leave some space as they are going to spread out. Keep going until you run out of mixture. Pop into the oven for 10 – 15 minutes – keep an eye on them and don’t let one batch burn like I did!

Voila – chewy salted caramel cookies in under 30 minutes – guaranteed to let you retain your domestic goddess halo with ease.

IMG_1991[1]

