Tags

, , , , , , ,

On the last bank holiday weekend, I had the pleasure of going to my first ever Hen Party in Bristol for the lovely Sophie. She is getting married to my good friend Rob and because of that, this Wedding is doubly special to me.

Image

Look at those smiley faces!

Unfortunately, I did not arrive in Bristol in the best of spirits. I may have had a little bit too much to drink on the Friday evening and after 3 hours sleep, lots of ‘wake the hell up’ phone calls (thanks gals, I love you really), a taxi to Paddington, a Burger King and a fair amount of self loathing, I was in a world of my own when the train pulled into Bristol. No time for moping though, first up, WEST COUNTRY GAMES!

IMG_1195

… I may have walked out in my Army costume to be greeted by a chorus of ‘Heyyyy Osama’

Image

Image

S taking the cow onesie like a trooper!

The West Country Games are hard to explain; think Total Wipeout meets a Farm. There are all sorts of obstacles and challenges and you are taken around by a host who keeps score. Our’s was a bashful 18 year old called David. Now, this wouldn’t have been my forte even if I had had my wits about me…

Image

Image

Image

(ten points if you can spot me!)

Image

Image

When the scores were added up, to everyone’s general disbelief, I came second! Poor David’s arithmetic skills were immediately called into question and I think C put it best when she declared ‘uhhhh that CANNOT be right’.

Image

Not a worry, this amazing cupcake put a big smile back on my face

We spent the evening dressed as Disney characters singing Karaoke (Call Me Maybe anyone?) and downing a few too many cocktails.

Image

Image

I aimed for Ursula… but lack of time to apply body paint meant I looked more red than purple and forgetting all my hair products in London meant that my quiff was seemed slightly more brillo-pad esque than I would have liked… The waiter asked me if I was the caterpillar from Alice in Wonderland. Fancy dress fail.

Image

Food and caffeine was the first thing on everyone’s minds the next morning before we left on a scavenger hunt round Bristol!

Image

Image

Challenges included planking on a random object, take a selfie with an old couple, high-fiving a stranger…

Image

Image

Image

Image

That night we had a cocktail master class from George. Now I seem to have been somewhat taken with George, I woke up with more pictures of him on my camera than the Bride!

Image

Image

Image

Image

We all started with a few glasses of bubbly before learning how to make a Mojito, a Cosmopolitan and the best way to set up a JagerBomb train (and then steal the remained Jager and drink it straight… but shusshhhh).

Image

Image

Image

The rest of the evening is a blur of bars, dancing and giggling, I woke up with aching abs from laughing so much and a very croaky voice… though that may have been the karaoke. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

The rest of the London Girls and I journeyed back together… in a bit of a coma, it was a great shout to book the Tuesday off work. Such a great send-off for S into married life and I cannot wait until the wedding.

All links details below; if you are looking for ideas for a Hen Weekend, do not rule out Bristol! It has that City feel without being too much of a concrete jungle, there is lots to do and you will always run into lots of Hen and Stag Do’s which is fun for all involved.

West Country Games | Za Za Bazaar | Karaoke Avon Gorge Hotel Cocktail Making | Po Na Na

