Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Image

Why is G wearing double tartan? Because we were in EDINBURGH baby! The gals and I escaped for the Bank Holiday weekend for a few days of kilts, tartan, highland walks and beach athletics… but I am getting ahead of myself.

After an obscenely early flight, where I may have been the grumpiest person ever, we arrived bright eyed and bushy tailed ready to experience everything Scotland had to offer us. Charlotte was our lovely host for the weekend and after dumping our suitcases, we headed out to Urban Angels for Breakfast.

Well the others were bright eyed and bushy tailed… I perked up dramatically after a Bellini.

 Image

Image

No need for a prosecco-pick-me-up (it’s a real thing) for these two cuties!

Image

Image

Scottish money!

I would really recommend Urban Angels. Between us, we tried the eggs royale, french toast with free range bacon & maple syrup, arbroath smokie with a poached egg, spinach & hollandaise and they were all lovely. You can find them here and keep an eye out for the dishy waiters 😉 

Re-fueled, we set about exploring the city…

Image

Image

Image

C and G look adorable on the end, Charlotte is in love with Mr Bagpipes (I know he LOVED our dancing) and I appear to a) be having the time of my life and b) be about 6 months pregnant.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Now you may or may not know, I am the biggest Harry Potter nerd in the world. I read all the books when they came out at midnight and went to watch the films with a wizards hat I made myself. (My mum made me remove it as the people behind complained that they couldn’t see. Pffft, muggles!)

Image

I knew that I couldn’t miss a trip to the Elephant Cafe where JK Rowling wrote most of the Philosopher’s Stone.

Image

Image

I left with the biggest smile on my face, though my lovely chums took great delight in pointing out the below sign we saw a few streets later!

Image

After a long day working around the City, we went for dinner and drinks at Hamiltons. The cocktails were mind-blowingly good and between us, I think we managed to sample a good proportion of the menu…

Image

Image

Me and my best girl ❤

A great start to our wee Scottish holiday… more of our adventures to follow shortly!

