Tags

, , , ,

I like going out for dinner. I like long boozy meals with lots of horrifically calorific dishes all washed with copious amounts of wine. This however is not good for my bank balance… or my waistline. The sun has come out to play recently which has got me thinking about summmerrrr. Long lazy afternoons in the pub with jugs of Pimms/pints of cold Cider, Day Trips to the Beach and colourful sundresses/shorts/playsuits with bare legs… (This is sometimes a struggle for me… being a clumsy girl means my legs are normally covered in bruises)

Thinking we needed to get our beach bodies in shape ASAP, G and I decided to try and avoid our usual haunts and try something both healthy and cheap. After squash in Brixton, we skipped on down to Pho, which has just opened on Battersea Rise last Friday night. We arrived at about 8.30 with flushed faces and sweaty tied back hair (yum) and parked ourselves on to tall stools ready for some Vietnamese delights.

Image

and a cocktail… naturally. It was Friday after all.

ImageImage

Dứa Colada for me which had Nếp Phú Lộc (a Vietnamese spirit… thats surprisingly strong!)  coconut, fresh pineapple & apple and a
Sơn Tinh Iced Tea (Nếp Phú Lộc, an apricot spirit, coke & lemon) for her. The Colada was fantastic… the Iced Tea, not so much.

We shared baby squid fried with salt and pepper and a large large crispy spring roll of tiger prawn, crab & pork.

ImageImage

Before moving on to Broken Rice with King Prawns for G. The gingery sauce was a bit sweet for my taste however the portion size was generous and G said the ginger mixed well with the chilli, limes and Asian herbs.

Image

I plumped for the Pho with Tiger Prawns as well. It came with a great little plate of herbs that you could add yourself so you customize depending on your taste.

 Image

 I went wild and just threw it all in the bowl and added a big squeeze of lime. The stock was flavoursome and despite my scepticism, the combo of noodles and prawns did fill me up!

Image

Pho just might be a little gem in Battersea; healthy food at a reasonable price with a very laid back vibe. Avoid the Sơn Tinh Iced Tea and make sure you order the fried squid! Whole list of locations here; we went to the Battersea one but I hear good things about Soho as well!

H x

